I am cooking these in my oven right now and they smell so yum! Strawberries were on mega sale today, so I purchased 4 containers of them, cut and froze three of them and wanted to bake muffins for when my friend is here this weekend visiting. I like to bake. I’ve always liked to bake, that I’ll freely admit. It’s why I put on my college 15+. 🙂 Again, I have my mom to thank for helping me be persnickety and search out healthier alternatives to processed junk that clogs my system (I used to eat those Otis Spunkmeyer muffins…I thought they were the best…..was I ever wrong!)

Check these out, yo:

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cups whole wheat pastry flour
1 1/4 cups rolled oats
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
1/2 cup strawberry puree (toss a few large hulled berries into a food processor and pulse until you have 1/2 cup of puree)
1/2 cup low-fat buttermilk
1/4 cup pure vanilla agave nectar, or other liquid sweetener of choice (honey, pure maple syrup, etc.)
2 Tbsp canola oil
1 tsp vanilla bean paste or pure vanilla extract
1 large egg
1 cup hulled & diced strawberries (measure after chopping)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
Coat a 12 cup muffin pan with canola oil cooking spray or line with paper cups.
In a medium bowl, combine the first 6 ingredients (through cinnamon), and set aside.
In a large bowl, whisk together the next 7 ingredients (applesauce through egg).
Add the dry ingredients into the wet, stirring until moistened. Gently fold in the diced strawberries.
Use an ice cream scoop (for uniformly-sized muffins) to spoon batter into prepared muffin pan.
Bake for 20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the middle of a muffin comes out clean.

In other and fun news, today I could smell the rain as it started (my dad says I am smelling the ozone, but to me it’s rain). 🙂 I CAN SMELL RAIN AGAIN! I have to say I’m pretty darn stoked about that one, as it has forever been my favorite smell and I’ve not smelt rain in 10 years….

or more.

Due to my painful, yet miraculous sinus surgery, I can smell rain again. It reminds me of my grandparents porch where I watched it rain with all of my family one time…and it definitely reminds me of wonderful, lush East Tennessee. How I’ve had a hard time reminiscing sometimes, due to my head being so darn blocked up! It’s lovely to be free from all that sinus blockage! I had no idea what I was missing….and that is why I call it miraculous. Now, I am off to read my book, listen to the rain, SMELL the rain, and these muffins.

Ont une bonne soirée!

One thought on “strawberry oat muffins & the smell of the fresh rain

Leave a Reply

