There’s something about creating art that is relaxing and centering. There countless times as an artist and art teacher that I’ve watched as the rowdiest classes are turned dead silent as students become ‘lost’ in their creation.

It is a joy the job that I do. A total joy.

Last night, I had the amazing privilege to have some beautiful ladies come to my house and create art. It was a perfect way to spend an evening, listening to music, talking, and creating.

At one point, everyone was so engrossed in their creations, that the talking ceased.

There is something divine in creation. I’ve read books that have argued that artist understand the intimacy of God well when they create, because they make something beautiful, grand, and personal from nothing. I wouldn’t hesitate to argue that point. Although, it could definitely make for some fabulous philosophical discussion….I am quite fond of those.

Genesis 1:1-2 In the beginning when God created the heavens and the earth, the earth was a formless void and darkness covered the face of the deep, while a wind from God swept over the face of the waters.

I think that when a person creates, she has to step outside of herself…putting aside concerns about life, troubles in the world, and then work to create something that speaks. It is healing to do this. That’s why art as a therapy is a grand one. (speaking of art, I mean not only the creation of visual art, but also music, dance, theater, writing, etc.)

But the basic reality of God is plain enough. Open your eyes and there it is! By taking a long and thoughtful look at what God has created, people have always been able to see what their eyes as such can’t see: eternal power, for instance, and the mystery of his divine being. -Romans 1:20

And for now, I believe something beautiful has started in the creation of artwork among friends. It’s something I’ve always loved to do, and now I have some people who are brave and beautiful enough to go there with me.

By the word of the LORD were the heavens made; and all the host of them by the breath of his mouth. Psalm 33:6

2 thoughts on “art

Leave a Reply

