there is something here at this house that has completely calmed my soul and rejuvenated my spirit. i literally feel as though i’ve fallen into a scene from a classic novel that i’ve read…..the kind of plot where there are loads of happy people together, sharing magical moment after magical moment. this place is unreal. there is a massive tree outside twisting over the rooftop, jasmine is blooming madly and fills your senses every time you walk outdoors, the porches are thick, gray wood that have been weathered by the beach storms, the rooms are spread about with wood floors leading to a huge open kitchen and cozy, reading living room. fans spin, and i am at peace.

this place makes me want to write. i picture the likes of hemingway sitting here, telling tales, describing in great detail the specificness of where he is, and stories he is molding. i picture late hours of ocean wave listening, walks and talks that never seem to end.

there are two happy boys asleep in their beds (my nephews)…already worn from the exploration and travels of today. there is a heavenly companion (my anabelle) passed out at the foot of my bed. there are my mom and dad across the hallway, my cousin asleep in the bed in my room, my aunt and uncle downstairs (another pair arriving tomorrow) and my bro and sis-in-law in a huge master suite that echos again my fixation on hemingway this evening.

this place is bliss.

(maybe i just really, really needed a vacation….maybe this place isn’t so blissful……but no, everyone here has said it. this is the coolest place we’ve ever stayed. old world style.)

here are some hemingway quotes just to add to this blog, as it’s become quite about him:

A man’s got to take a lot of punishment to write a really funny book.

But man is not made for defeat. A man can be destroyed but not defeated.

Courage is grace under pressure.

I like to listen. I have learned a great deal from listening carefully. Most people never listen.

Forget your personal tragedy…you especially have to be hurt like hell before you can write seriously. But when you get the hurt, use it-don’t cheat with it.

2 thoughts on “let the sea resound.

  1. Your words travel through the souls of others, evoking a smiling envy and gleeful happiness that you have found such a blissful place! Enjoy, you wonderful teacher, you beautiful woman and extraordinary friend and sister!
    I really enjoyed this post ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

