As summer is moving along, I am getting lazy. Well, lazy with housework, and things I “need” to do. Instead, I am cooking. 🙂 I have loved cooking since becoming a vegetarian 4 years ago. Although I am no longer a vegetarian, being a vegetarian greatly increased my use of spices and flavor in recipes. Today I am embarking on a new recipe. I have decided to create a gluten free bread. This recipe is a Gluten Free Buckwheat Bread. I LOVE buckwheat flour, as it has a beautiful dark, rich color to it and an amazingly earthy taste.

Here is the recipe I used:

Ingredients (serves 8)

1 1/2 cups gluten-free plain flour
1/2 cup buckwheat flour
3 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons caster sugar
2 egg whites
1 cup almond milk
1/2 cup olive oil
2 tablespoons sesame seeds with crushed almonds

Method

Preheat oven to 350. Grease a loaf pan. (All I had on hand were two small pie pans, but they worked great! I also liked the rounded bread look, more artisan :). )

Sift flours, baking powder and salt into a large bowl. Stir in sugar. Using an electric mixer, lightly beat egg whites until just frothy. Stir in milk and oil. Add egg white mixture to flour mixture. Beat for 2 to 3 minutes or until smooth.

Pour mixture into prepared pan. Smooth top with a spatula. Press seed mix lightly into mixture. Bake for 45-50 minutes or until a skewer inserted in the center of bread comes out clean. Stand in pan for 10 minutes. Turn out onto a wire rack to cool.

Baking bread always fills the house with such wonderful aromas. It is quite tasty, and unique. I highly recommend this recipe!

Do you have a gluten free bread recipe that you love?

Leave a Reply

