I stole this recipe.

And changed it. This is pretty much my typical way to do things. (So, does that make it mine?? When does a recipe become mine? *shrug*)

I LOVE granola. LOVE it. And the added protein in these leave you feeling full and satisfied. Great recipe. I keep making it (have a batch in the oven now). For years, I kept making this weak, sissy, pathetically burnt granola. I had been given recipes and hints from almost everyone I knew. Then…I gave in to adding a bit more liquid (love the smell that the agave puts into your house) and viola! Granola. Yum! I was also reading on a great new blog that I stumbled on, Food52 that there is a restaurant owner that sends her guests away with granola as a parting treat (instead of a sugary dessert), I LOVE it!

Protein Granola Bars

Prep time: 10 mins
Cook time: 20 mins
Total time: 30 mins
Ingredients

2 1/2 C. Rolled Oats
1/2 C. Crushed, Salted Pretzels
1/2 C. Protein Powder (vanilla flavored tastes great in this recipe)
2 Tbs. Ground Flaxseeds
1/2 Tsp. Sea Salt
1/2 C. Nut Butter (I used peanut butter)
1/4 C. Agave or Honey
3 Tbs. ghee, coconut oil or olive oil
2 Tbs. Unsweetened Applesauce
1 Tsp. Pure Vanilla
1/2 C. Vegan Chocolate Chips (optional, but highly recommended)

Instructions

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees F.
Lightly grease a 9 x 13 inch pan and set aside.
In a large bowl, combine oats, crushed pretzels, protein powder, ground flaxseeds, and salt.
In a small sauce pan, add the nut butter and ghee or oil. Melt on stove top, until coconut oil has melted and nut butter is drippy. Add the melted oil and nut butter to your dry ingredients, along with the agave, applesauce, and vanilla. Mix until all ingredients are well combined.
Transfer the mixture to your prepared baking pan and use a spatula to flatten the mixture into the pan.
Bake for 18-20 minutes, until the top is lightly browned.
Allow to cool completely before crumbling into granola and adding chocolate chips (I add the chocolate chips now so that they don’t melt into the entire batch making it a chocolate granola…experiment!). Served GREAT with soy milk (if you’re a fan).
Store in the fridge.

One thought on “protein granola

  1. Sounds so good! I am going to make this, but have a question…rice cereal is listed in the instructiins, but not the ingredients. So, how much should I use?

    Like

Leave a comment