What can be said of South African food without missing something? We ate so well. Large 4-Course meals that we were unaccustomed to at home. It was fun, tasting the soup, then the starter, the main and then the dessert. In the two weeks we were eating this way, I actually lost weight!

image
Kudu Steak with Chocolate Chili Sauce+ Potato

We did not choose to eat lunches many days as the full English breakfasts with the 4-Course dinners were enough.
We ate a lot of things I felt were easy to find in the UK such as various curries and fish & chips. Then, occassionally, a truly African flair would roll out. One evening, it was a la carte and Chad was thrilled! We could choose from a a variety of interesting meats: alligator, wildebeest, kudu, springbok, ostrich and of course lamb, beef and fish. Chad was in heaven! The chef would prepare each piece the way we requested. I have to admit, trying the game was difficult (as I was too in love with all of them) and I will not eat them ag

image
Wildebeest, kudu and alligator

ain
On one of our nights in Cape Town, we ventured out to Marco’s African Place. The restaurant was decorated in African style, the waitresses were in African garb, a band performed lively African music and we tried dishes with African flair. It was quite a popular local place, and I was grateful to be in such a wonderfully African environimage

ment.

We ate a venison stew, at least twice that came served in a black cast iron pot. This dish, cooked long and infused with unique spice arrangements proved to be one of our favorites of the entire trip.

image
(not my photo)

Another dish that was seemingly out of this world was cheesecake. We had about three differing versions of cheesecake, but walked away impressed every time we ate it. I came home and immediately created a recipe that my grandmother and mother had made while I was growing up, a “Cheese Pie.” It was not as good as I remember, and next I will be working towards a full blown New York style cheesecake.

I do know that Peri-Peri Sauce came home with us, however, this is something that I had experienced at Nando’s in England, the summer that I spent there…although it is an African chili. We also brought home some Onyx salt from the Kalahari, that I fell absolutely in love with while in Africa.
ORY-images-home2

Lastly, for now, I will speak of Roobios tea. This tea, that I have enjoyed for many years, was a staple tea in South Africa. When you wanted a cup of tea, Roobios was served. Its deep red color and rich, earthy taste will forever remind me of the cold winter nights, listening to the zebra and exotic birds.

South Africa, its cuisine, tea, and wine! Oh! The wine! THAT will have to be another post entirely.

Leave a Reply

