Ahoy, ye land lubba! Today, September 19, 2016, is International Talk Like A Pirate Day. I started celebrating this holiday after I got into all things pirate. When Jack Sparrow graced the screens in the first Pirates of the Caribbean movie, I was hooked. A line from the movie led me to my convictions about my future career:

You know, for having such a bleak outlook on pirates, you’re well on your way to be coming one. Sprung a man from jail, commandeered a ship of the Fleet, sailed with a buccaneer crew out of Tortuga. [sees Will looking at coins shining in water] And you’re completely obsessed with treasure.

I thought about the quote from the movie in a very serious way: I love tropical islands, at the time I loved rum, and I like sparkly things….that’s it! I am a pirate in the making. And it was then that I knew what I wanted to be when I grew up…a pirate (at least, it is what I tell my students at work, and at times my friends, and at dinner parties). Since then, 2003 to be exact, I have been hooked on pirates. I truly do own jewelry that is piratey, books about pirates, bumperstickers say “Pirates for Hire” (in hopes that one day someone will really pick me up, shirts that are piratey and am currently contemplating tattoos that are pirate based.

2000px-flag_of_edward_england-svg

When I started my romantic affair with pirates, again, Jack Sparrow’s fault, my mom was concerned. I told her, “Not Somalian pirates! Jack Sparrow pirates” and she got it. The silly, galavanting around, funny pirates. However, I cannot continue on pretending that pirates are cute friends who would love to go to a party with you (Jack Sparrow is probably really fun at a party).

Pirates have their origins from thousands years ago, sailing the seas and robbing and pillaging. Early pirates include the Vikings (of which I am a descendent!). Trade routes carrying valuable goods from exotic places back to the Old World ushered in the “Golden Age of Piracy,” which occurred around the 17th Century. People (men and women) turned to piracy for the love of adventure and freedom and the promise of treasure ((totally get the idea of running off into the sunset seeking treasure)).

Today, in honor or Pirate Day, I did Plank Pose / Kumbhakasana for the occasion (pirates do yoga). I also read about what pirates ate – a gallon of beer a day!?! From this last article, I learned about William Dampier, who was one of the first foodies, and a pirate! I checked out my Pirate name and am closing my evening with a story, that I am reading aloud to my dogs from this book.

screen-shot-2016-09-19-at-9-31-35-pm
Plank Pose, a pirate’s favorite yoga pose

My friend texted me today to wish me a happy Pirate Day. No joke. And as this pirate day ends, I plan on carrying this celebration through the week, as I teach art on a 4 day rotation to my students, and I definitely want to close the week celebrating pirates–as it was a most excellent teaching strategy today, the students were super engaged and happy as we listened to pirate music and drew in charcoal.

Hoist ye mizzens, prepare the mast!

Leave a Reply

